Manuals and instructions for everything

why do they speak spanish in south america

None of the Spanish-speaking countries originally spoke Spanish. Prior to the conquest and colonization of the New World, there were many different indigenous groups in Latin America and many different languages were spoken. Spain itself is where Spanish originated, but prior to Spanish there was Latin, which was another language imposed on the peninsula.

There were foreign languages spoken on the peninsula in ancient history such as Phoenecian and Greek. There were also native languages there, few of which remain to this day. Basque is one of the few remaining native languages in Spain, and its origin is unknown. Aug 19, 2010
-Spanish is the official language in 9/15 countries +territories in South America Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, Venezuela, Chile, Colombia.

In Peru and Bolivia, it is a co-official language -In 6 other countries +territories: Brazil speaks Portuguese (but Spanish is the most popular foreign language), Guyana, Falkland Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich speak English, Suriname speaks Dutch, French Guyana speaks French.

Some other definitions consider 2 countries Panama, Trinidad and Tobago and 3 territories Aruba, Bonaire, Cura ao parts of South America. Panama speaks Spanish, Trinidad and Tobago speaks English, the 3 territories speak Dutch. (They are commonly considered North American countries) May 11, 2010 Edited by Feb 24, 2011

  • Views: 267

why do we have to study english
why do spaniards speak with a lisp
why is christopher columbus important to history
why do we speak english in america
why do we need a global language