Manuals and instructions for everything

why were the three branches of government established

It took four long months of debate for the framers to create the Constitution. As the framers worked, different plans and suggestions were made. The states with smaller populations supported the New Jersey Plan which sought equal representation among all states, and which added an executive and judicial branch, while giving the government power to tax and regulate trade. The larger states sought to have representation in the new government based on population. They created the Virginia Plan, which did this, and which not only created three branches of government, but also gave the government much more power than under the Articles. The result of all this debate was the Great Compromise, which resulted in the Constitution we know today.

It solved the representation squabble by creating a bicameral legislature, called Congress, in which the lower house (called the House of Representatives) had representation based on population, and an upper house (called the Senate) had equal representation by states (2 Senators representing each state). An executive branch was created, headed by a President to be elected by the people (and an electoral college). A judicial branch was also added, with one Supreme Court, whose members were to be chosen by the chief executive and confirmed by the Senate. The new government was given the right to tax, to regulate trade and make national laws.

It was much more powerful than the national government had been under the Articles of Confederation. The framers finished their work on the Constitution in September of 1787.
According to Article I of the Constitution, the (the U. S. Congress) has the primary power to make the countryБs laws. This legislative power is divided further into the two chambers, or houses, of Congress: the and the. Members of Congress are elected by the people of the United States. While each state gets the same number of senators (two) to represent it, the number of representatives for each state is based on the stateБs population. Therefore, while there are 100 senators, there are 435 elected members of the House, plus an additional six non-voting delegates who represent the District of Columbia as well as and other U. S. territories.

In order to pass an act of legislation, both houses must pass the same version of a bill by majority vote. Once that happens, the bill goes to the president, who can either sign it into law or reject it using the veto power assigned in the Constitution. In the case of a regular veto, Congress can override the veto by a two-thirds vote of both houses. Both the veto power and CongressБ ability to override a veto are examples of the system of intended by the Constitution to prevent any one branch from gaining too much power.

  • Views: 185

why do we have a bicameral legislature
why do we have a bicameral congress
why do we have 3 branches of government
why do we have two houses of congress
why do we have 3 branches of government
why is the great compromise so important
why is the government divided into three branches