why do we have world heritage sites

Up to 2004, there were six criteria for cultural heritage and four criteria for natural heritage. In 2005, this was modified so that there is now only one set of ten criteria. Nominated sites must be of "outstanding universal value" and meet at least one of the ten criteria. These criteria have been modified or/amended several times since their creation. "exhibits an important interchange of human values, over a span of time, or within a cultural area of the world, on developments in architecture or technology, monumental arts, town-planning, or landscape design"
"is an outstanding example of a type of building, architectural, or technological ensemble or landscape which illustrates a significant stage in human history" "is an outstanding example of a traditional human settlement, land-use, or sea-use which is representative of a culture, or human interaction with the environment especially when it has become vulnerable under the impact of irreversible change" "is directly or tangibly associated with events or living traditions, with ideas, or with beliefs, with artistic and literary works of outstanding universal significance" "is an outstanding example representing major stages of Earth's history, including the record of life, significant on-going geological processes in the development of landforms, or significant geomorphic or physiographic features" "is an outstanding example representing significant on-going ecological and biological processes in the evolution and development of terrestrial, fresh water, coastal and marine ecosystems, and communities of plants and animals" "contains the most important and significant natural habitats for in-situ conservation of biological diversity, including those containing threatened species of outstanding universal value from the point of view of science or conservation" UNESCO designation as a World Heritage Site provides evidence that such culturally sensitive sites are legally protected pursuant to the Law of War, under the, its articles, protocols and customs, together with other treaties including the and international law.

Thus, the Geneva Convention treaty promulgates: "Article 53.

PROTECTION OF CULTURAL OBJECTS AND OF PLACES OF WORSHIP. Without prejudice to the provisions of the Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict of 14 May 1954,' and of other relevant international instruments, it is prohibited: (a) To commit any acts of hostility directed against the historic monuments, works of art or places of worship which constitute the cultural or spiritual heritage of peoples; (c) To make such objects the object of reprisals. " World Heritage Sites are cultural and/or natural sites considered to be of вOutstanding Universal Valueв, which have been inscribed on the World Heritage List by the World Heritage Committee. represent unique, or the most significant or best, examples of the worldвs cultural and/or natural heritageВ Outstanding Universal Value is considered to transcend national boundaries and to be of importance for future generations. World Heritage status is a high accolade that brings with it responsibilities and international scrutiny.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to protect and preserve such sites through the. This international treaty was drawn up in 1972. Governments of countries that have ratified the Convention (States Parties) identify and nominate suitable sites to the World Heritage Committee for inscription on the list maintained by UNESCO. Read more about World Heritage SitesВ on the website. identifying and putting forward sites to the Historic Environment Scotland carries out these roles for cultural World Heritage Sites on behalf of Ministers. В Cultural World Heritage is in the portfolio of the within the Scottish Government Enterprise, Environment and Innovation Directorate. Natural World Heritage is the responsibility of the. В DCMS acts as the State Party for the whole of the UK and is responsible for the UKвs general compliance with the Convention. В The requires planning authorities to protect World Heritage Sites and their settings from inappropriate development. В

  • Views: 71

why do you have to be 17 to donate blood
why do we need world heritage sites
why do we need to study society and culture
why do we have world heritage sites
why do we love someone so much
why do we fall in love with certain people
why should the great barrier reef be protected